

Dear Financial Secretary,

We were delighted when the Government made the decision to abolish the 'Tampon Tax' in 2021. This meant that disposable period products stopped incurring VAT.

This was a big step in the right direction but - on behalf of our customers and women across the UK – there is more to do.

The current VAT rules mean that period pants – a reusable period product – are classified as garments and therefore subject to a tax rate of 20 per cent.

This means that anyone who wants to use a more sustainable product when they are on their period pays a premium for doing so.

That's why Marks & Spencer and WUKA are joining forces to ask you to level the playing field between disposable and reusable period products by removing VAT from period pants.

Period pants have the power to reduce plastic pollution and waste and they also have the potential to save people money in the long term as they can be worn, washed, and worn again, month after month. But, to make this a reality, we must start by making this brilliant alternative to disposable period products more accessible to more people.

We believe this starts by removing the tax and reclassifying period pants as a period product.

Our customers and colleagues tell us that one of the main barriers to switching to period pants is cost. Since 2020, M&S and WUKA customers alone have paid £3 million in VAT on period pants. If the VAT is removed, the period pants retailers and brands who have signed this letter have pledged to pass this straight onto their customers, so they feel the benefit of the cost saving immediately.

Our campaign is already supported by over 50 supporters including politicians across the spectrum, charities such as Bloody Good Period, Wellbeing of Women and A Plastic Planet, and female business leaders.

Will you recognise period pants as a period product in this year's Autumn Statement?

Yours sincerely,

. . .

Katie Bickerstaffe, Co-CEO, M&S

Ruby Raut, Founder and CEO, WUKA

Tamsyn Spires, Publisher, Hello! Magazine

Rosie Nixon, Creative Brand Ambassador, Hello! Magazine

Tamara Ingram OBE, Non-Executive Director M&S

Fiona Dawson CBE, Chair of the Women's Business Council, Non-Executive Director at M&S

Hannah Gibson, CEO, Ocado Retail

Karen Mattison MBE, CEO and Co-Founder, Cook for Good

Lucy Pearson, Director of FA Education, The Football Association

Emma Sinclair MBE, CEO, EnterpriseAlumni

Janet Lindsay, Chief Executive, Wellbeing of Women

Siân Sutherland, Co Founder & Chief Changemaker, A Plastic Planet

Mary Rice, CEO, Environmental Investigation Agency

Sandy Luk, CEO, Marine Conservation Society

Hibo Wardere, Education Lead, Educate, Not Mutilate

Dr Sally Uren OBE, CEO, Forum for the Future

Rachel Grocott, CEO, Bloody Good Period Helen Dickinson, CEO, British Retail Consortium

Caroline Herman, Founder, All Yours Period Box

Dr John Rose, Product Development Director, Technical Absorbents Ltd

Julian Triado, Managing Director, Love Luna and The Melas Group Ltd

Tina Leslie MBE, Founder, Freedom4Girls

Kari Rodgers, Primark UK Retail Director

Christine Heffernan, Group Communications Director, Tesco

Clive Betts, MP for Sheffield South East

Olivia Blake, MP for Sheffield, Hallam

Deidre Brock, MP for Edinburgh North and Leith

Alan Brown, MP for Kilmarnock and Loudoun

Amy Callaghan, MP for East Dunbartonshire

Wendy Chamberlain, MP for North East Fife

Sarah Champion, MP for Rotherham

Daisy Cooper, MP for St Albans

Tracey Crouch CBE, MP for Chatham and Aylesford

Philip Davies, MP for Shipley

Martyn Day, MP for Linlithgow and East Falkirk

Dame Caroline Dinenage DBE, MP for Gosport

Dr Stephen Farry, MP for North Down

Emma Hardy, MP for Hull West and Hessle

Drew Hendry, MP for Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and Strathspey

Christine Jardine, MP for Edinburgh West

Rt Hon Sir George Howarth, MP for Knowsley

Stuart McDonald, MP for Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch East

Anne McLaughlin, MP for Glasgow North East

John McNally, MP for Falkirk

Charlotte Nichols, MP for Warrington North

Kate Osborne, MP for Jarrow

Selaine Saxby, MP for North Devon

Virendra Sharma, MP for Ealing Southall

Cat Smith, MP for Lancaster and Fleetwood

Alison Thewliss, MP for Glasgow Central

Claudia Webbe, MP for Leicester East

Dr Philippa Whitford, MP for Central Avrshire

Sammy Wilson, MP for East Antrim

Richard Thomson, MP for Gordon

Baroness Bennett of Manor Castle

The Lord Bradshaw

Baroness Bryan of Partick

The Lord Cashman CBE

The Lord Stone of Blackheath

Baroness Lister of Burtersett

Rt Hon the Lord McNally

The Lord Randall of Uxbridge

The Lord Rennard MBE

Baroness Healy of Primrose Hill